9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2011 3:10 PM by BlackCalvus

3D Rendering vs 2D (why I can't see my 3D)

EckleySP Level 1

Ok, admitedly, I'm new at this and I am working with a template that someone else built.  The project has several comps that hold video clips - they are 3D.  The main comp has many layers that are all 3D (psd files, and other comps). 

I wanted more video comps, so I duplicated the video comps that come with the template in the Project Panel.  When I move one into the main comp it comes in as 2D and I see the contents of the comp  - all OK - except I want it 3D.  When I make it 3D it goes away.  If I solo the comp I see nothing.

So, yes, I'm too lazy to read the 400+ pages of the book in front of me, beside, I'm not even sure where to look.  Nesting Comps didn't shed any light.

What is so frustrating is that I've run into this before and I have no idea what I did to fix this. . .

Thanks advance for the Golden Key.  I promise to take better care of it this time around.

• 1. Re: 3D Rendering vs 2D (why I can't see my 3D)
          Mike_Abbott Level 4

Try the 'collapse transformations' switch in the timeline - it looks like a little sun.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: 3D Rendering vs 2D (why I can't see my 3D)
            EckleySP Level 1

That makes it visible, but even though the CUBE is checked to tell it I want it 3D, it acts 2D.  There is a camera control layer on top of the whole comp that controls the 3D world of all layers (except this one).  And, no other comp (those with the videos) have the Collapse Transformation turned on. . .   The motion of the camera has no effect on this 'video' comp.

• 3. Re: 3D Rendering vs 2D (why I can't see my 3D)
              TimeRemapper Level 4
              So, yes, I'm too lazy to read the 400+ pages of the book in front of me

That's a shame. There's probably lots of good info in those pages.