9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2011 6:06 PM by Samuel Chrisna

No Audio When Encoded

jasonbyrne662

I am new to After Effects CS5, but not new to video editing.

I am producing a show where we have an anchor and add in some intro music, b-roll video, graphics, etc.  When I do the RAM Preview and play it, everything is fine.  HOWEVER, when ever I export it I have the audio from my b-roll and intro music... but silence from the layers with the anchor.

It's kind of baffling because even when I "Save RAM Preview" there is no audio on those tracks... but when I do the RAM Preview within After Effects it is.

Yes, I am checking the checkbox to export audio.  And, yes, the audio toggle is on by the layer.  This is Windows 7 64-bit.

Any help would be great!!!

• 1. Re: No Audio When Encoded
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

jasonbyrne662 wrote:

I am new to After Effects CS5, but not new to video editing.

Great!  From the description of what you're doing, you just might want to keep your project in the editor.

More info: any kind of compressed audio like mp3 or ac3 -- even compressed audio in a clip's audio track -- give AE absolute fits. It needs to be uncompressed audio like wav or aiff files.

Third: I NEVER, EVER use AE as an editing application, and it sounds like you are.  AE stinks on ice as an editing application.  Really lousy.  Very time-consuming.  Not to mention difficult to work with as an editor.

Fourth: I almost never render audio because it's unnecessary... and I'm talking about lip-sync audio here.  I just add the rendered video-only AE file to my NLE's editing timeline, and everything syncs up.  If it doesn't, it's because of a dumb mistake I made in AE.

You're much, much better off editing first, getting the edit right, and THEN doing your AE work.

• 2. Re: No Audio When Encoded
            jasonbyrne662 Level 1