13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2014 12:22 PM by A.T. Romano

playback stops

mj1114

I have an HP Pavillion laptop (dv6) with Windows 7 and Premier Elements 4.0.  I have created slide show dvd's on this program before, but not on this laptop.  I am trying to preview the video to edit and it just stops on some slides.   I am a novice and don't know where to look to try to fix this problem.  Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: playback stops
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Well, my books will certainly tell you everything you need to know!

Meantime, make sure your photos are no larger than 1000x750 pixels in size, per the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/431851?tstart=30

You should also render your timeline whenever you see red lines above your clip. Press Enter and, after the render, the red line will turn green.

Finally, you've got a pretty old laptop with a relatively small hard drive. Ensure you've got at least 30 gigs of free space on your C drive and make sure it's clear of spyware and regularly defragmented.

• 2. Re: playback stops
            mj1114 Level 1

Well, there are no red lines above the clips and it seems to be a different clip it stops on anytime I

start to play it.  Also I have over 500gb of free space.  My laptop is only a year old!!

• 3. Re: playback stops

What type of camcorder is your video coming from and how did you get it into your computer?

Which project setting did you select when you started your Premiere Elements project?

Are you working in Timeline mode? That's important.

Can you post a screen capture of your timeline?

• 4. Re: playback stops
                mj1114 Level 1