5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2007 11:47 AM by ntsiii

How do I send a message to my flex app

CameronI
      I am really new to flex and I am trying to build a prototype. We need to have the browser post some data to the server and then have the server interpret that data. Once that is completed we need to have the server send a command back to the calling flex app to display a certain page within the flex app. Could some one point me in the right direction?

I.e. we have 3 tabs in the flex app we need the client to send an xml string and then have the server send back a message telling the client to display tab 2.

Thanks for your time.
        • 1. Re: How do I send a message to my flex app
          ntsiii Level 3
          You will want to use ExternalInterface. It is really quite easy to use. I don't have an example handy.

Tracy
          • 2. Re: How do I send a message to my flex app
            NumberNineteen
            You can use "URLRequest" to call a server side script and then wait for a response using an event listener. Example:

public function getURL():void {
            var variables:URLVariables = new URLVariables("i=myvar");
            var url:URLRequest = new URLRequest(' http://yourserver.com/script.php');
            url.method = URLRequestMethod.POST;
            url.data = variables;
            var loader:URLLoader = new URLLoader();
            loader.dataFormat = URLLoaderDataFormat.VARIABLES;
            loader.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeFunction);
            loader.load(url);
            }

public function completeFunction(event:Event):void {
            mytabs.selectedIndex = event.target.data.response;
            }

Your server side script should print something like "response=3" - for example, in PHP it would be:

echo "response=" . tabIDtoReturn;

• 3. Re: How do I send a message to my flex app
              ntsiii Level 3