7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2011 4:27 PM by Ed Edited It Productions

HDV Capture

Catul

I'm a hobbyist and have about 20 DV tapes (Sony VX2000) and 10 HDV tapes (Sony HVR-A1U) that I'd like to capture on my PC, primarily for archival purposes so I can sell the old(er) hardware. At some point I envision going through all of this footage and culling out a few hours of keepers, which can be later transcoded to a high-quality format. I currently use Premiere Pro CS5 for all editing.

My PC is a couple of years old (Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4 Gb RAM, SSD main drive, additional local and networked storage) along with Adobe Creative Suite CS5, running Windows 7 x64. I also have NeoScene v1.60 if necessary.

What's the best format to capture this footage, one that's fairly universal and likely to be easily read over the next 5-10 years? I don't plan on doing more than basic trim/split editing.

The DV seems easy, ScenealyzerLive or WinDV probably being one of the better options right?

The HDV footage from the HVR-A1U is the main concern. Should I just use something like HDVSplit and capture to MPEG-TS video (m2t files)? Seems like capturing using the Cineform codec would be overkill for my needs, and lock me in to a non-standard format.

Thanks very much for any pointers and suggestions!

• 1. Re: HDV Capture
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Due to the nature of the footage you have, you're best off just capturing to the format that corresponds to the digital signal on the tape. The DV tapes will be captured to DV AVIs, and the HDV tapes will be captured to HDV M2Ts. To oversimplify it, you're really just "copying" the data of the tapes, since they're already digital.