6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2011 2:46 PM by John402052000

migrating to new computer from DW MX to DW8

John402052000

I bought a new computer in the last year. I'm a graphic designer who does a little web site work. My old machine is a Mac G4 MP with DW MX. My new machine is a MacBook Pro intel with DW 8. I haven't bothered to migrate my sites from my old machine to my new one, but the G4 is getting buggy so its time. My question is this: Is there an easy way to migrate my sites from my old computer to my new one? Ideally I'd move my sites file from my old comptuer to my new one and the viola -- I can open them up on my new machine with all the database intact.

Any help would be great.

thanks,

John

• 1. Re: migrating to new computer from DW MX to DW8
          Ben M Adobe Community Professional

Easiest way would be to drag the user folders that you still use from one mac to the other.  The Sites, Documents and other folders still exist in the same location, OSX has not changed that much.  Then export the site file from the old mac to the new one and it should read it instantly as long as the usernames are the same.  If they are not, you may need to adjust a path when you import to the new Mac.  Just keep in mind that DW 8 is an old version and is not guaranteed to run in SL on the new Macbook Pro.  And because it's 3 versions back, CS5 is your last chance to upgrade before paying full retail again when CS6 comes out.  Just something to think about if you run into issues with the Macbook Pro.

• 2. Re: migrating to new computer from DW MX to DW8
            John402052000 Level 1

Thanks for the reply!

A couple questions: