5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2011 3:05 PM by Linda Nicholls

Export HTML with links for email signature

Let me start off by saying i am REALLY NEW to fireworks and fairly new to using HTML.  I understand it and can pretty much follow along, but i am defiantely a beginner...

I want to have an HTML signature for use in outlook using an image file that i created.

I have an AI file that i created to use an the email signature with outlook.  I put all text in using illustrator and exported a PNG.  I opened the PNG with fireworks and tried the following:

1. Tried using hotspots over the pieces of information (like a clickable email address) i want to be links

2. Tried slicing the image and exporting that.

Both times, if I view the HTML file in a browser, it works perfectly.  When i move the one with hotspots into the appropriate signature folder for use with outlook, the hotspots are just not working.  All it shows is the image and no links.

When i put the one using slices into the appropraite folder, everything is clickable, but the slices are visible, and "cut" through the image (lines all over the place)

Let me know what other information you need, but i think there has to be a way... i just dont have it.

• 1. Re: Export HTML with links for email signature
          pixlor Level 4

If you want to have an HTML email, then your whole email needs to be HTML, not just the end of it. Also, email clients are not as capable as browsers, so you are much more limited in HTML email. For instance, I don't think you can use image maps (which hotspots require). Just because it works in a browser is no indication that it will work in the main email clients.

For some info on creating HTML email, check out

Another service: http://www.mailchimp.com/

• 2. Re: Export HTML with links for email signature
            frettfreak Level 1

its not an actual email (like a sales email) that i am trying to create, its just an email signature.