2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2007 8:28 AM by levancho

Change view states using a TabBar control

shawnytoe
      Hi,

I'm new to using Adobe Flex and was wondering how to change multiple view states using a TabBar control. What I've done so far is create four view states. My purpose is to show a different state based on which tab is selected in the TabBar. Setting the TabBar's currentState property doesn't seem to work in this scenario. Is there some way I can set each tab's currentState property?

Thanks,
      Roshawn
        • 1. Re: Change view states using a TabBar control
          Clark_Kent101 Level 1
          Roshawn,

The TabBar works like it should if its connected to a ViewStack. In the ViewStack you would need to insert however much canvas' each with its own label. The label of each canvas in the ViewStack will correspond with the names of the buttons on the TabBar (assuming you haven't already done this). Here is an example:

--------------------------------------------
          <mx:TabBar dataProvider="{viewstack1}">
          </mx:TabBar>

<mx:ViewStack id="viewstack1" width="200" height="200">
          <mx:Canvas label="View 1" width="100%" height="100%">

<mx:Text text="State 1" />

</mx:Canvas>
          <mx:Canvas label="View 2" width="100%" height="100%">

<mx:Text text="State 2" />

<mx:Canvas label="View 3" width="100%" height="100%">

<mx:Text text="State 3" />

</mx:ViewStack>
          --------------------------------------------

You'd obviously need to insert whatever needs to be inserted into each Canvas.

Hope this helps,

- Tony
          • 2. Re: Change view states using a TabBar control
            levancho Level 3
            the problem is with little confusion between States Vs Stack
            as Tony outlines TabBar needs to be glued to ViewStack (which is a Kind of Invisible Container Object) which is not a State.