6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2007 10:35 AM by guiui

Initial zoom/fade in effect

guiui Level 1
      I am new to Flex but know Flash and am trying to make the migration. I always make my Flash movies "build" in the classic flash fashion of parts fading in and zooming in until the entire interface is displayed. what is the best way to create these same effects in Flex? This Flex site in Adobe's gallery does basically what I am talking about: http://mortgage.fidelitylabs.com/index.shtml
        • 1. Re: Initial zoom/fade in effect
          peterent Level 2
          There are couple of ways to do it. The simplest is with states. If you use Flex Builder design mode, place a Panel on the stage. Put some controls in it. Remember that for Flex to scale and alpha text you must embed the fonts. But leave that for later.

Open the Flex Properties panel in Design Mode and switch to the Category view. Find the scaleX and scaleY values. Set those to 0.01 (not zero, although that may work). You want to start off with the Panel scaled small.

Now add a new state (also in Design View), and call it 'zoomedState'. In this new state, change the scaleX and scaleY values to 1.

You'll need a way to trigger the change from the base state to the zoomedState. Add updateComplete="currentState='zoomedState' " to your Application tag.

When run the program you'll probably see just the final zoomedState. To show the effect, you need to use a Transition. Go back into your file and switch to Source view in Flex Builder. Add the following after the </mx:state> tag:

<mx:transitions>
          <mx:Transition fromState="" toState="zoomedState">
          <mx:Zoom />
          </mx:Transition>
          </mx:transitions>

When you run the app again, the transition should cause the Panel to zoom from its initial scale of 0.01 to 1. You can add more parameters to the Zoom effect tag if you want to change some of the behavior.