6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2011 3:03 PM by the_wine_snob

New to PRE and need feedback on my system build

athaynes25

I played around with the trial version on my old computer and decided to go ahead and purchase PRE 9 and PSE 9 together. I have built a few PC's in my day and recently completed my current build running my purchased software. I was hoping that I could get some feedback on what I have and what I might change to get better performance. PRE is very jittery when scrolling through content and playing back the timeline. Sometimes I don't even see a transition. I am new to video editing in general and capture in HD with my Canon HF S100, so I am planning on editing in HD as well. Sorry for the NoBo question, but my machine smokes until I fire up PRE. I may be using the application incorrectly, but I am assuming that my low end video card, is an area of concern/bottleneck. I don't want to blow $800 on a Quadro 4000 if it won't make a huge difference, but I assume it will. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

High level build

MoBo - ASUS P6X58D Premium LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

PSW - CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 SLI Certified

Proc - Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

Mem - 12GB Mushkin Enhanced Redline 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM

Drives

OS - Crucial RealSSD C300

Media - Western Digital VelociRaptor WD6000HLHX 600GB 10000 RPM SATA 6.0Gb

OS - Windows 7 x64 SP1

Video - NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT

Detailed DxDiag output below.

------------------
      System Information
      ------------------
      Time of this report: 2/27/2011, 19:30:14
      Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)
      Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
      System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
      System Model: System Product Name
      BIOS: BIOS Date: 05/25/10 14:57:23 Ver: 08.00.15