2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2011 4:07 PM by msp1518

Do I have sufficient power to edit 1080p? Or MUST I upgrade?

msp1518

Gentlemen (and ladies), my wife was able to get CS5 via her student program and we installed it on our only computer, a Shuttle XPC Prima with the following specs...

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Shuttle FX38

Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz

8GB DDR2 ram

nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512mb

Samsung HD502HJ 500GB 7200rpm drive for OS

WD Green drive for storage, but I am planning on buying two esata externals (7200rpm, of course).

By no means a powerhorse via today's standards, but I am having interesting results. I did some shooting with a Canon 60D the other day, just for fun, and placed a few clips on my hard drive. While editing them on CS5 everything played smoothly. I was surprised. Of course, I now read I need to uncompress the files before editing and can't figure that out (as of yet).

However, some files supplied to me in ProRes (I am still learning all these names and what they mean) were very choppy. They were for a project edited on Final Cut Pro (latest version). Talk about dropped frames. Yowzer!

Some 720p clips rendered in FCP that were meant for showing people the work in progress play poorly inside of Premiere Pro as well, despite their playing fine with VLC. When opened and played back via VLC, they are smooth as silk.

I am going to post a procedural question in another part of the forum, but for what I have, am I okay to edit in HD, even if it won't be screaming? Do I just need to use or stick to certain codecs? If I am not powerful enough, will replacing the video card be sufficient?