3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2011 7:59 PM by justjz

Stuck between a rock and a hard place

justjz

I need help making a decision:

I'm currently attending school for graphic design (to do it full time) and at our school we'll be learning CS5 on MACs.

I've been doing graphic design for roughly 10 years in my spare time and eventually self taught myself on CS2 on a PC.

Now, I had thought about buying a MAC Book and CS5 (we get Adobe discounts thru my school) to learn, use, and do my freelance work, but that's a heavy investment. I have been thinking about buying a PC laptop, CS5, and a tablet which would be less than just a MAC Book, but now I don't know what laptop to get.

I'd like to hear some feedback from the community to steer me in the right direction or offer some helpful advice.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
          Chuck A. McIntyre Level 3

Get a Sager Notebook.

Get it with 3 internal hard drives and my gut feeling is, get the most powerful Nvidia card available with that notebook (read further though).  Just don't let them sell you on dual Nvidias.  Make sure the drives are 7200 RPM.  This might be a little pricey, but if you must have a notebook, Sager is one of the best options available.  Some of the guys here should be available to tell you their experiences with laptop specific Nvidia cards as they relate to MPE performance.  I once did the hack/tweak on an earlier Sager's Nvidia card.  The tweak enabled Mercury, but there was no significant performance benefit.  It may be because of the difference between laptop and desktop video cards,  It is entirely possible that none of the laptop Nvidia cards are providing any worthwhile Mercury performance gains.  I don't have a laptop, so a Sager guy might be able to provide better information in the area of MPE laptop performance

• 2. Re: Stuck between a rock and a hard place
            Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP