18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2011 3:19 PM by slmngolf

T2i .MOV footage is washed out in PP preview and in export

slmngolf

Hi,

I'm fairly new to PP and I am having a very frustrating issue that I can't seem to find a solution to:

I am using .MOV files taken from my T2i.  The footage looks beautiful in VLC player and Windows Media Viewer, but, when I import it into PP, it looks washed out, and the colors are a lot less bright and vivid.

I'm on a Windows 7 machine.

I've done quite a bit of research into this and have learned about a potential problem regarding the gamma correction of Quicktime files, but I'm not using Quicktime Pro at all.  This is happening with my raw footage straight from the camera into PP.  Is there still a gamma correction issue with the .MOV files in PP?

I've also gone the route of adjusting brightness, contrast and saturation on my footage which seems to help, but it also seems counterintuitive to the actual problem upon import.  Plus, it's a killer on my workflow...

Someone please help!  I love the way my raw footage looks before import, and really want to know how to maintain that clarity through to the finished product.

Thank you so much for any help you can offer.

• 1. Re: T2i .MOV footage is washed out in PP preview and in export
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Out of curiosity, do you enjoy working in a 32 bit environment, instead of 64 bit?

QuiRcktime is famous for destroying the 64 bit nature of CS5, reverting it to a CS4 alike program. Unless you rewrap your clips in something else than MOV, you will keep this problem. Your camera ought to come with software to do that for you. Otherwise search for it with Google.

On a PC nobody in his right mind would willingly work with anything QuiRcktime, it plain stinks.

• 2. Re: T2i .MOV footage is washed out in PP preview and in export
            slmngolf Level 1

I guess I should have said that I am working in a 64 bit environment.  What tells you I am working in 32?