7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2007 8:12 PM by Newsgroup_User

Using Ruby in place of Actionscript

ryanmohr
      I love flash (design tools, stage / layout concepts, etc.), but I hate actionscript. I've been a programmer for about 10 years now, programming in everything from C to C#, java, php, perl, ruby, and actionscript. Actionscript is by far my least favorite of the group. It is a clumsy language (just have a look at the way actionscript 2 handled method closures on callbacks) and I'd prefer to use another scripting language in place of it for my flash development. Ruby would be an excellent replacement, offering everything actionscript has to offer (object oriented, event handling, etc.) with a number of additional features that come through ruby core and the ruby gems (excellent date and time libraries, database libraries, file handling libraries, etc.).

Does anyone with an in-depth knowledge of actionscript and flash know what it would take to achieve some sort of common language API that would allow such a substitution? If the ruby on rails guys came across a solution allowing them to leverage the benefits of ruby (superior language to actionscript) with the benefits of the flash platform (superior visual control to html/ajax), flash would be unstoppable.
        • 1. Re: Using Ruby in place of Actionscript
          Level 7
          ryanmohr,

> I love flash (design tools, stage / layout concepts, etc.), but
          > I hate actionscript. I've been a programmer for about 10
          > years now, programming in everything from C to C#, java,
          > php, perl, ruby, and actionscript. Actionscript is by far my
          > least favorite of the group.

Heh, not Perl? Come one! ;)

> It is a clumsy language (just have a look at the way actionscript
          > 2 handled method closures on callbacks) and I'd prefer to use
          > another scripting language in place of it for my flash development.