3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2011 11:17 PM by Mylenium

Installation Errors

michaellouthan

Hey Guys,

Im extremely new to AE and everything involved, and I'm in need of some help. First off, I installed AE CS5 and application works fine. In the installation, I see folders such as Device Central and Media Encoder, both with icons indicating damaged file... "Cannot be opened, file has been misplaced or damaged". Now, at first, I thought nothing of it. Once I started rendering and exporting projects, some final output file sizes were insanely large (I want a high quality video, but it why is the file so enormous?) After looking around through Adobe Help, it said that Media Encoder runs in the background of AE during Rendering. So, do I have an install problem, or do I need to tweak my output file settings?

- Media Encoder: "Damaged or Misplaced"

- Device Central: "Damaged or Misplaced"

- Adobe Bridge: Do I need it? It's not anywhere on my computer, if I do.

So Is this an installation error, because AE, Adobe Media Player, and Help were the only things that it installed correctly. I've re-installed multiple times, always checking to make sure each component's box was checked for installation. Thanks for the help!

Mac 10.6.6

• 1. Re: Installation Errors
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          (I want a high quality video, but it why is the file so enormous?)

Umm, basics --> http://forums.adobe.com/thread/684381?tstart=0

The rest of your issues are too vague to make sense of them. if the applications are damasged, eitehr the source DMG was damaged or you installed with insufficient user privileges. Provide the installation logs as explained here and we may be able to make sense of it.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Installation Errors
            michaellouthan Level 1