20 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2011 5:44 PM by RjL190365

Upgrade my current PC build to work for PP CS5 - Need help Please

barrydavid

Hi All,

First I would like to thank you for the interest in my post.  Your time, patience and help is very much appreciated!

I  have searched these forums and google for what specs are recommended  for PP CS5, but haven't found solid answers that would pertain to my  current build.  I am not a computer expert (although after all this  research, I think I deserve a some sort of certificate!! LOL) but I have  a bit of knowledge.

I am on a bit of a budget, ~$4,000 US, but please don't let the budget stop you from suggesting the appropriate recommendations.  If neccesary, and time/patience willing, please help advice what I would need to get as well as what I can get for $4,000.

To the questions!:

I  need to upgrade (or buy - but would like to see if I could save money  first by upgrading) my system to meet the requirements for HD video  editing (Sony Ex3 and Canon 5D Mii footage) and MPE (Adobe Premiere Pro  CS5).

Here are my current Computer specs (Please let me know if I need to add anymore info):

Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.101026-1503)
      System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
      System Model: P55-USB3L  ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128425 )
      BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
      Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU         530  @ 2.93GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
      Memory: (at the moment) 3072MB RAM  (seems I can go to 16gb -1333 or 2200 - on this board?)
      Available OS Memory: 3064MB RAM
      Page File: 2749MB used, 3375MB available

Graphics Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250

UPS:  Gigabyte GE-P720A-C2