7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2011 12:44 PM by Ned Murphy

Photo Gallery AS 2.0 Help

2acremeadow Level 1

Hi,

I am very new to Flash and need some assistance.  I am using CS4 and ActionScript 2.0.  I am trying to create a photo gallery.  I have created 4 different movie clip buttons that reside on the content layer.  Each button consists of one image.  When the movie clip button is pressed, I want the full size image to appear on the stage next to the buttons.  You can see the buttons in the image below.  I am trying to create an empty movie clip holder that would reside on the main timeline while the buttons reside on the content layer.  Can someone help me with the code I need to get the images to load into the empty movie clip and then unload when the next button is selected?  I can't seem to get the buttons to "talk" to the empty movie clip holder.  I did manage to create code for an empty movie clip holder within each button, but then I end up with all four images on top of each other.   Thanks in advance to anyone willing to share their code knowledge.

PSPage.jpg

• 1. Re: Photo Gallery AS 2.0 Help
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What code are you currently using?  You could manually place an empty movieclip on the stage and use that and the loadMovie command to chage the content within it.

• 2. Re: Photo Gallery AS 2.0 Help
            2acremeadow Level 1

Hi,

I have placed a movie clip on the timeline.  I named the mc symbol mcHolder in the properties box.  I made sure the registration point was in the top corner.  This is the code I have for one of the photo buttons in the actions panel.  My question is still how do I make the photo show up in the box and leave when the next button is clicked?  The jpg files are in the same folder as the FLA and swf.  Thanks for your help - You can tell I am new at this.

on(rollOver) {
            gotoAndStop("over");
            _level0.spectrumCursor.gotoAndStop("hover");
            }