1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 8, 2011 9:31 AM by Stefan Horochovec

convert FileReference to URLRequest?

disarli

Hi,

I am very new to Flex.  I need to build a little component that will read the running time of a collection of local MP3 files and return the runtimes to a webapp, which is building the metadata for a digital talking book for the blind.  Flex 4 seems to be the most direct path.

I have hacked on some sample MP3 player code and changed it so it prints String(Sound.length) when I play a local MP3 file by name, with, for example,

<net:URLRequest id="myURLReq" url="sample.mp3" /> and

Sound.load(URLRequest)

Then I typed in the Adobe cookbook example for uploading a local file via PHP to a server, using FileReferenceList.browse(), and that works.

Now I want to merge these two functions, where I pick the local MP3 files with FileReferenceList.browse(), and load each FileReference into a Sound object.  My question is how can I turn a FileReference object into the local equivalent URLRequest that I can pass to Sound.load()?  Is there some kind of cast?  Do I pick apart the object into data fields and reassemble it by hand?

Thanks so much for your help!

Lester

• 1. Re: convert FileReference to URLRequest?
          Stefan Horochovec

Well

How its work the URLRequest at "net" namespace? The result of your question depends this object.

You can upload a data easly in Flex. Like this code above:

<fx:Script>

<![CDATA[

private var fileReference : FileReference = new FileReference();

protected function button1_clickHandler(event:MouseEvent):void

{

this.fileReference.browse();

this.fileReference.addEventListener(Event.SELECT, onSelect);

this.fileReference.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, onComplete);

}

protected function onSelect(event:Event) : void

{

this.fileReference.load();

}

protected function onComplete(event:Event) : void

{

trace(this.fileReference.data);

}

]]>

</fx:Script>