2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2011 1:08 PM by NickMcCamy

Newbie:  My first project.  Is my workflow correct?

NickMcCamy

I'm a newbie, working with After Effects for only a few hours. I want to make sure I'm doing things properly. I started with baby steps with my first project as follows:

I created a 9 second composition and added a single photograph to it.

I see that AE comes with some cool animated backgrounds like "Apparition". I want that as my background. 

Now, I'm asking myself, "how do I add this background to my composition?". Well I double-clicked on it to see what would happen. It seems to have replaced my photo. Not what I wanted.  Oops! 

I had to wonder if there was some attribute within my photo layer that would allow me to add an animated background, but I could not find anything like this.

Then I wondered, "do I have to make the animated background it's own layer?". If so, how? 

The only way I could figure out how to do this was by adding a solid color layer below my photo, then double-clicking "Apparition". This created the background I wanted. But is this the correct way to do this?

OK, now I added a second photo and want it's background different, like the "Cinders" background. And I want this photo duration to be 6 seconds.

When I added my second photo (photo 2), I had the CTI at the start, so photo 2 starts at the same time as photo 1, not what I wanted. I also discover that my timeframe does not extend beyond 9 seconds. Now what do I do?

OK, I set the composition to 15 seconds via Composition Settings. Then I drag my photo 2 layer bar I guess you call it, to start at the end of photo 1. Now I position the CTI at the start of photo 2 and add a solid color layer below it.

To my surprise, the solid color layer starts at zero, not at the CTI!   So, now I have to drag it over to line up with photo 2. Isn't there a better way? Anyway, I add the "Cinders" background and now have what I want.