5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2007 5:58 PM by kglad

Instantiating a movieclip not working?

Rusherific
      I've been out of the Flash game for a while and I'm just learning AS 3.0 so work with me here. I have an existing movieclip in the library that I'm simply adding to the stage like so:

var mc1:mcname = new mcname();
      learn1.x = 583;
      learn1.y = 144;
      addChild(mc1);

However this doesn't work in my existing project. I made a new flash file to test and do this it works fine, but it wouldn't in my project. I did some troubleshooting and found that no matter what layer I put this AS on it wouldn't show up unless I deleted any and all my layers that use masks?? What does that have to do with anything?
        • 1. Re: Instantiating a movieclip not working?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          are you adding mc1 to a masked object? ie, is that code located on a timeline that's masked?
          • 2. Re: Instantiating a movieclip not working?
            Rusherific Level 1
            Thanks for the response, but no, and if it were that AS would disappear itselft when I deleted the masked layers. I tried switching to

addChildto(mc1, 5);

Which works for now, but why I don't know. I guess I'm confused about this new displayobjectcontainer business in general. Since AS can no longer be associated with an object, and only keyframes, what exacly is it adding a child to? The stage? How do I specify a container? The docs are woefully sketchy on this as always. I've tried using other displayobjects or movieclips as a container but I get errors and doubt I'm doing it right. All of which doesn't explain to me why even if I use plain old addChild() it will show up on top of 21 layers no matter where I put it as long as I have no masked layers but not show up if I have (entirely unrelated) masked layers in there at all...
            • 3. Re: Instantiating a movieclip not working?