5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2011 8:06 PM by newbie_dev

AS3 - function passed as argument has wrong scope when invoked

newbie_dev Level 1

Hi all,

I am new to flex. I have been trying to this : http://seancode.blogspot.com/2008/07/flex-injection-passing-function-to.html

This post basically has a component MyBox which gets a function as an argument and calls the function on a button click.

It has another component Main which has defined a function func and has MyBox as a child and gives the function to MyBox.

The problem is : func accesses properties of Main. So when it gets invoked it is supposed to run in Main's scope but in my application it is running in MyBox's scope and giving a Reference Error of property not found.

I have read that in AS2, mx.utils.Delegate was used to specify the scope in which a function should execute. This was used to set event listeners. And AS3 is supposed to do this automatically - magic/method closures. I have had no issues setting event listeners and they run in the correct scope..

Please tell me where I am going wrong.. there is no Delegate to work around this issue now. And I couldnt find anyone else facing this issue in AS3.

thanks in advance..

• 1. Re: AS3 - function passed as argument has wrong scope when invoked
          bmleite

Hi,

The problem is that you are using an inline function instead of a bound method. In this case, when you use an inline function, the scope of that function will be the scope of the caller (following the example the caller will be the MyBox component) and not the scope of the creator (Main). You can find more info on Function scopes here: http://livedocs.adobe.com/flex/3/html/help.html?content=03_Language_and_Syntax_21.html

If you don't need the Bindable part, you can circumvent the problem by using a bound method/function:

(using the same example you provided)

private function backToViewZero():void {
               viewStack.selectedChild = viewZero
          }