3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2011 12:22 PM by jeffreypritchard

Spark Skinning and Flash Professional

jeffreypritchard

Hello,

In transitioning to Flex Builder fom Flex 3, I am running into a wall with the whole spark component architecture. I used to create my visual content in Flash, convert those assets to symbols and then reference the skin classes using an external CSS file. This may not have been the most elegant way to do things, but it allowed me to leverage my proficiency in Flash (and tons of existing assets) to create a workflow that was as flexible as I needed it to be, while at the same time allowing me to make changes easily and rapidly.

I am a single designer/developer, so this 'separation' of everything between 'designers' and 'developers' is creating some serious drag on my workflow. I just don't understand how this new spark workflow model can possibly be viewed as 'efficient' when it adds so much overhead and boilerplate code to my projects. I used to go from vector graphics (using 9 slice scaling) directly into my Flex projects, and now I have to filter all of these vectors through catalyst, and then create these skin classes which require the tweaking of the catalyst output for me to use them (which, in effect, destroys the round-trip editing of the catalyst projects).