7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2007 8:17 AM by Twitchr

Should be simple?

Twitchr
      Hey everyone. This has probably been asked before, but I thought it may be quicker to ask again.
      I'm new to actionscript, but not new to programming. I'm trying something which should be simple, but getting nowhere in Flash. What I'm trying to do is when a button on frame 2 is pressed, check the contents of an input field named "enterTeamTwo" on frame one and depending upon what text is in that field, either gotoAndStop(2) or gotoAndStop(3).

My instinct was to put the following code in the next button on frame 2, but it does not do what I expect it to do:

if (enterTeamTwo.text = "Team 2"){
      gotoAndStop(2);
      }else{
      gotoAndStop(3);
      ]

I've tried many variations of this and sometimes instead of getting the contents it puts the text I'm looking for into that input field.

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm loving what I'm seeing of Flash, but getting used to actionscript and getting rid of habits from other languages is frustrating...ha ha.

-Twitch
        • 1. Re: Should be simple?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          use double equal (==) to test for equality. and if that code is in frame two, instead of gotoAndStop(2), use stop().
          • 2. Should be simple?
            Twitchr Level 1
            Really appreciate the quick reply, kglad. Unfortunately, it's still not working. It stays on frame 2 no matter what text is in the "enterTeamTwo" input field.

Here is all the code for the button:
            on (release) {
            teamOneScore = teamOnePoints - - teamOneScore
            if (enterTeamTwo.text == "Team 2"){
            gotoAndStop(3);
            }else{
            stop()
            }
            }

The first line of code is simply adding two text fields together. The name of the input field "enterTeamTwo" is in the "Var:" section of the input fields properties. That's where is should be, correct?