1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 13, 2007 5:07 AM by PimpOfPixels

New to flash actionscript, making a game.

PimpOfPixels
      Hi. My name's Rory.

I am an artist.
      http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=PimpOfPixels
      http://roaring23.cgsociety.org/gallery/

I am learning action script and Flash so that I can make games.
      I am not a complete novice in programming. I am proficient in Java and in MaxScript (3DSMAX embedded language).

I have been making some progress in action script and I have a functional (although incomplete) game in the works. You can view it here:
      http://secure2.streamhoster.com/~rlu...orniverous.swf
      The idea is it's a color game
      red beats green, green beats, blue beats red. Think paper scissor rock.
      The idea is to change the entire circle into one color.
      The graphics are place holders BTW.

I am using FlexBuilder 2.0 and Flash CS3, and I have come across a problem not covered in either of my books.

I'd really appreciate any help that you guys can offer.

I have gotten this far on my own.

My #1 question (and I have many more) is:

How do you through Flash specify animation segments for a MovieClip Symbol?

Notice how the red creatures occasionally open their mouths. I want to have a walk, an attack, an absorb, and a bounce animation on the same timeline and trigger the appropriate one depending on which color the creature collides with. I do not know how to go about this problem. I’ve just been trying to get the walk animation to loop without playing the attack animation so far.

I've tried frame-labeling in flash, with scripts on the key frames of a second layer that specify when to stop or repeat the animation... No dice.

I have a symbol named RedShot in the library of a flash project named "graphics"

In my timeline I have 2 animation segments, and I have a second layer denoting two corresponding frames named "walk" and "attack" from the properties menu.