10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2007 1:19 PM by kglad

How to Draw on JPG

Sarawinder
      Hello
      I am totally new to flash actionscript. I have an image in jpg and it has some shapes ,say a ball. I want the user to be able to draw the ball over it. How can I do this in actionscript. I when I have selected a closed contour I want to tell an application running on another computer, probably on webserver that I have selected a particular shape like in this example a ball.

Is this possible in actionscript.

Thanks

• 1. Re: How to Draw on JPG
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          how do you determine what constitutes a "closed contour"?
          • 2. Re: How to Draw on JPG
            Sarawinder Level 1
            Hi Kglad

Whenever I complete a circle, oval or anything which is within a complete line which I have drawn, I am calling it a contour or a closed shape.
            • 3. Re: How to Draw on JPG
              you can determine if the start point and end point of a drawing are the same (or close enough to be considered identical). that would include things like a figure eight.

if that's ok, flash can handle that. what is it you want done with the shape?
              • 4. How to Draw on JPG
                Sarawinder Level 1
                I have a matlab application that is running on the webserver. I want the matlab application that a particular area has been selected on the image and the application does some image processing on that image.

Kglad, checking only for start and end points would make sure that i have selected a closed shape but how would i know at the webserver end what shape has been selected. For that I need to send some referecne point( like mouse movements but don't have any idea)
                • 5. Re: How to Draw on JPG