7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2011 4:14 AM by das_kaese

Identify document elements, mark as XML?

das_kaese Level 1

Hi all,

Currently working on a Web-to-print project using InDesign Server CS5 and JavaScript.

What I'd like to do is enable the following to happen:

• A user uploads an .indd document (OK with this!).

• A JS script loops through the document and identifies all the elements of the document (text areas, images, etc).

• The user is then prompted to select which elements of the document they would like to mark as 'editable'.

• The elements that the user has selected as editable are tagged in the .indd as XML elements.

• The .indd is saved and closed.

I'm relatively new to InDesign scripting, and I'm hoping this isn't something too unusual that I'm trying to achieve! Does anyone have any advice/ideas as to how this could be achieved?

Many thanks

• 1. Re: Identify document elements, mark as XML?
          John Hawkinson Level 5

Good news: This is all doable.

Bad news: you'll have to do much of it yourself.

Looping through th document is easy enough. You can iterate over pages and within pages iterate over pageItems or allPageItems depending on your view of the world. Or you could iterate over all the textFrames in your document. Or over all the pageItems in your document. All depends on how you want to organize it. Each is a 1-line for loop...easy.

Having the user select...that sounds like a user interface. That could be a huge pain. Those are doable in JavaScript/ScriptUI, but they require a fair bit of experience and even then there's a lot of fiddling and adjustment...

Unless maybe you mean having the script stop and having the user shift-click all the items in InDesign, and then restart the script? That's doable but I don't think users would like it.

Once you have a set of elements identified to the script, tagging them is easy enough as well.