6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2011 2:09 AM by DawMatt

Is this line of code a bug in the example Flickr Publish Service in the SDK?

AlanUniqueName Level 2

I am a Lua newbie and I’m struggling to understand one line of code within the Flickr Publish Service sample code line 995 from the file FlickrExportServiceProvider …

local hidden = exportSettings.hideFromPublic and 2 or 1

where earlier in the file (line 698) the hideFromPublic is bound to a checkbox which appears to simply have default settings (no set values) so I presume should return either false or true into hideFromPublic?

f:checkbox {

title = LOC "$$$/Flickr/ExportDialog/HideFromPublicSite=Hide from public site areas",

value = bind 'hideFromPublic',

},

Am I correct that the above assignment is equivalent to this?   ….

local hidden

If exportSettings.hideFromPublic then

hidden = 2

else

hidden = 1

end

If the above is correct I also have some additional confusion because if a photo is re-published, this “hidden” value is passed (line 1019) to the Flickr function flickr.photos.setSafetyLevel

FlickrAPI.callRestMethod( exportSettings, {

method = 'flickr.photos.setSafetyLevel',

photo_id = flickrPhotoId,

safety_level = safety_level,

hidden = hidden,

} )

And the Flickr API definition

http://www.flickr.com/services/api/flickr.photos.setSafetyLevel.html

for this function seems to suggest that hidden should be 0 or 1.    Reinforcing again that I do not understand the assignment to hidden shown above, or perhaps it is an Adobe bug or Flickr API mistake or change?   Or perhaps I simply do not know how the Flickr API works!

Any help in understanding this would be appreciated … and again I apologise if I have missed the obvious.

Alan.

PS – I am trying to investigate a bug (I’ve already reported) where on republishing a photo from LR it gets hidden from public searches.
      See ….   
      http://forums.adobe.com/thread/796350?tstart=0