7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2011 2:35 PM by fireworkshelp11

Can't get Export to work

Boston999 Level 1

I'm relatively new to Fireworks.  I created a small image map, but when I try to export the image and html to Dreamweaver, I get a message a message saying "Could not complete your request - The file was not found."  I've tried Export, Export Wizard, rebooting, and a bunch of other stuff - but still can't get it to work.  I'm using the Trial version (but it's the same as the regular version, right?) on a Mac running SnowLeopard.

Other than this, and an issue with the Text function that I posted about in a different thread, I like Fireworks a lot and was planning to buy it - so I hope there's a way to get Export to work with images/html so it won't be a showstopper.  I'm assuming I must be doing something wrong.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Can't get Export to work
          Linda Nicholls Level 4

Can you upload the file so we can have a look at it?

• 2. Re: Can't get Export to work
            Boston999 Level 1

Linda, thanks for responding to my question.

Unfortunately, I'm unable to upload the file to you.  Everything I try gives the "file not found" message (but the file is right there on my screen, in front of me as I'm getting this message), so I don't know how to get it to you. The only way that I've found to get the file "out" of Fireworks is to save it as a .jpg file (which of course eliminates the "hotspots" and associated html), and then open it in Mac's Preview utility and also in Dreamweaver.  I could send you the .jpg file if you'd like, but since it no longer contains the hotspots and there's no html, I'm not sure that's too useful.

I tried adding the clickable hotspots back in with Dreamweaver, and that worked and also produced usable html.