31 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2012 2:19 AM by Mike_Edel

Zoom Q3HD files

Flashdharma

I am a musician.  I use a Zoom Q3HD to record video files.  The output is an MOV file.  In Premiere Pro CS5 the following

information is displayed:

Movie, 1280 X 720 (. . . 00:03::23:26, 29.97 fps, 44100 Hz - Compres . . .

When I add the MOV file to the time line, the video plays fine, but the audio remains compressed and won't play.  I rebuilt the

sequence file to match the displayed info, but the only change I can make to the audio is to match the 44100 Hz.

The video and audio play fine in VLC.  When I check the codec information, it tells me that the audio is using:

PCM S24 LE (42ni)

Is there some way I can get Premiere to play these video files properly?

Thanks very much for your help,

Bill

• 1. Re: Zoom Q3HD files
          Jim_Simon Level 8

My guess here is that PP simply can't handle 24 bit audio.

• 2. Re: Zoom Q3HD files
            Bill_Jensen_987

I rerecorded the video and made sure that the audio was 16

bit.  I got the same problem.  The video played, but the

audio remained compressed and would not play.

The codec being used by VLC is now:

PCM S16 LE (sowt)

Bill

• 3. Re: Zoom Q3HD files
              Colin Brougham Level 6

You can use 24-bit audio; I use it all the time, even/especially in QT MOV files. Premiere Pro converts everything internally to 32-bit, so it's not the "bitness" that is the problem.

Could be a codec (more specifically, a decoder) issue. Just to verify: are you working on a PC, and do you have QT Player installed?

• 4. Re: Zoom Q3HD files
                Jim_Simon Level 8

Maybe try uploading a short clip for others to test.

• 5. Re: Zoom Q3HD files
                  Bill_Jensen_987 Level 1

I am using a Windows 7 machine.  I have Quicktime installed, and the files run perfectly in QT.

The only program that won't run the Zoom Q3HD files is Premiere Pro.

Thanks for your help,

Bill

• 6. Re: Zoom Q3HD files