6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2011 6:40 PM by mdubuque

a better workflow with h.264 files?

masha bigova

Hello!

Sorry for asking a total newbie question.

I am just starting to deal with video editing.

Ma camera is Sanyo Xacti.

My video is H.264, 1920X1080,

My first question is:

When working with Final Cut Pro where i had first to convert my footage to Apple Prores 422 codec to edit. It was fine but all this rendering business in FCP every time you want to try a new effect on a videofile or transition or something else really pisses me out. I come from the world of Professional Audio where the process is real-time and rather fast. Is the workflow in Premiere similar and after every operation you have to suffer from rendering? Can i preview the effects without rendering? These things are crucial to me, because with all this time-consuming rendering the creative fun goes away.

My second queston is:

From what i read about Premiere Pro CS5, i undestand that now i dont need to convert H.264 files and can work in this program without any additional conversion of these files. But i also read that this codec can be demanding on the computer. I use Mac Pro 8-core with 4 GB RAM. Will it be enough to edit my files in Premiere Pro CS5 as they are or it would be better to convert them first to some friendlier format (without quality loss, if possible)?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: a better workflow with h.264 files?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

There is no need to convert AVCHD material to another format. CS5 handles that natively. However, your MAC is severely limited, not so much by the limited multi-threading of the OS, but by a severe lack of memory. 12 GB of RAM or more is advised.

All conversions cost quality, but one of the least intrusive ones is Cineform.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: a better workflow with h.264 files?
            nate.andersen Level 1