5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2011 11:08 AM by Aaron.Ottho

Quadro FX 1800 problem - HELP!

Aaron.Ottho

Ive got a quadro fx 1800 with 768MB of vram. This card had been  working perfectly since the launch of Premiere CS5 with mercury hardware  acceleration. Rendering was lightning fast, previews and playing from  the timeline silky smooth. I was a happy video editor. Sure I needed to  add my card to the supported cuda card list but I never had any problems  at all.

However recently I updated premiere from 5 to 5.03,  and my card stopped working. Performance is now terrible, with long  renders and stuttery playback. I figured I just needed to re-add my card  to the txt file. But that didnt solve the problem. Confused I checked  the output of gpusniffer.exe. It said that my card was being rejected  because it didn't have the required 765MB of memory (even though my card  has that much, it only showed 745M "available")

So I tried to install new nvidia drivers *no luck*

So I then tried to replace GPUsniffer with and older file so I could still maybe use the updates *no luck*

Resorting  to a complete uninstall of premiere and reinstalling without applying  updates *no luck* (that this didnt work BAFFLED me)

Calling adobe support *no luck* they basically  told me to buy a new card. (not happy with that advice considering I  bought this one this year and it stretched our budget to get it) They also tried re-applying the updates, clean install of nvidia drivers and deleting my user profile.

I then tried to find a way to use less memory on my card or fake higher memory *no luck*

Searching for a registry entry or file where that 765MB limit is specified *no luck*

Talked to adobe support on twitter and they asked me to  post here. Please help! I'd love to get this back to normal so I can use  my card and get productivly editing again!

• 1. Re: Quadro FX 1800 problem - HELP!
          Harm Millaard Level 7