4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2011 10:54 AM by BlueSkyDesign

exporting html pages into separate folder

BlueSkyDesign

Hi there,

I'm still fairly new to fireworks and web design, in general.  I am having issues with my web host (he is independent) for two sites in particular.  He wants the file system set up so all the files are in their own separate folders.  For example:

/nameofwebsite

/css-bin

/htdocs

/js-bin

/images

And none can be just in the general site folder, for security reasons.  However, when Fireworks exports my site, it puts all the html files into the general folder, along with the css files and js files.  It only creates an images subfolder.  When I try to create subfolders in dreamweaver and move the html files it messes up my links and the site does not work properly.

Does anyone know how I can set this up to work properly, so I can make my web host happy and so my site works correctly?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: exporting html pages into separate folder
          pixlor Level 4

Just put your images under /htdocs/images instead of /images. All your links should be relative, so they will still work.

Alternatively...

In Dreamweaver, set up your site as normal. Create an /htdocs folder and an /images folder. Using the folder view in DW, move all your files into the /htdocs folder. DW should prompt you to update site links; let it do so. Then, select all the images in your (now) /htdocs/images folder and move them to your /images folder. DW should again prompte you to update site links.

• 2. Re: exporting html pages into separate folder
            BlueSkyDesign Level 1

Sorry, I didn't clarify that he wants the html files in the htdocs folder, while the images are still in their image folder, etc. It's when I move the html files that it messes up the links.

• 3. Re: exporting html pages into separate folder
              pixlor Level 4