4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2011 1:28 PM by John Danek

Getting into calibration

MagicToaster Level 1

I'm a designer and my company is updating my equipment and they've asked me to go nuts.

I asked for:
      iMac - 27", 2 quad cores (2.47ghz), 6 gigs of ram, 1 TB hard disk and a 1GB ATI Radeon GDDR5
      Wacom - Intuos Medium
      Spyder Pro - Color Calibrator

I really wanna get into color calibration and working with our print suppliers so as to get the most accurate reproduction possible.  With my new equipment, are there any pitfalls I should be aware of or areas of opportunity that I can take advantage of?  What else can I do, beyond calibrating my monitors?  What is a good resource for learning about color profiles?    

Also:I haven't worked on a Mac for the loooongest time.  Any resources I can look up so I can appear somwhat competent when my new things arrive?

• 1. Re: Getting into calibration
          John Danek Level 4

You left out your in-house proofer.  And, because you are in an open-loop workflow, you're internal color matching is an important part of the matrix.  You've basicly mentioned "soft-proofing" which, in itself, is a joke.  That's my opinion and I'll stand by it.  You can do a lot of research on adobe.com and check their color management white papers.  I would recommend getting into a hard ware solution utilizing an x-rite colorimeter or similar.  You can get by with what you've ordered for calibrating your monitor, which is a pretty good one.  But, color management involves your application color settings, too.  Should a print vendor forward to you their .icc profile, then absolutely use it in the application(s).  Most will generally let you use a standard CMYK profile.