18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2011 6:33 AM by barpos

How to improve the workspace in Flash

barpos Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to Flash, yet I'd really like to make my workspace more efficient.

Currently, in order to access the Actions window, I have to choose the Actions layer, then either press F9 or right-click on the first frame, then click on Actions.  That's why TOO MUCH work, especially when I'm leaning back in my chair and can't reach that F9 key. <g>

So, my question is, is there a way to make it as efficient as when I switch to an .AS file for editing?  Is there a way to configure Flash so that when I choose the Actions layer in the timeline flash automatically brings up the Actions editor at the exact same location (where the stage is) as when editing in .AS file?

Regards,

Ron

• 1. Re: How to improve the workspace in Flash
          *Q Level 3

Hold down Alt key and double click the frame on the action layer. That should open up the Action panel. Once you're done with the Action panel, just close it. The next time you open it, it should be where you left it.

• 2. Re: How to improve the workspace in Flash
            barpos Level 1

Hmmm, I knew that. <g>

Anyhow, I've decided to attach the actions window on the top left of the workspace permenantly although I can minimize it when needed.  I have a large monitor, so a lot of room to work with.

I'm pinning all the needed layers so they are easy to access.  My only wish would be to be able to autosave those pinnings for when I close and reopen the document they are still intact.

Regards,

Ron

• 3. Re: How to improve the workspace in Flash
              *Q Level 3

What do you mean "pinning all the needed layers so they are easy to access"? That sounds interesting.

• 4. Re: How to improve the workspace in Flash
                ChrisH Level 1

Hi qkhong,

across the top of Flash in the application bar you may see the term "Essentials", or another word sitting by itself on the right.