2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2011 10:46 PM by BStroganoff

Newbie Adobe Technology Question...

BStroganoff

Hello Flex Guru's:

I have little knowledge of Adobe Technologies so I sincerely apologize up front if I've posted to the wrong forum.  I tried to find the best fit for my question.

I need to write up a research paper given the following objectives and I'm hoping some of you may be able to offer some advice.

Select a technology that enables: (please explain your reasoning)

• Secure code deployment (install/update) via the Web.
      • Secure code execution on the current local machine.
      • Secure inter-application communication on the current local machine.
      • Secure read/write access to application-related data files on the current local machine.

My Understanding:

I'm told the following about (what I see as) "the competition": (in no particular order)

• Microsoft Silverlight 4+ has signed, out-of-browser applications that can be deployed via the Web and execute under a Silverlight Runtime.
      • Oracle Java 6+ has signed, applets that are deployed via the Web and execute under a Java Runtime.

My Questions:

• Does Adobe technologies have an "animal" such as the above two?  If so, which ones would you recommend?
      • Assuming Adobe does offer a strong solution, why would you choose Adobe technologies over MS or Oracle?

A gracious thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Sincerely,

Beef

• 1. Re: Newbie Adobe Technology Question...
          Pablo Souza Level 3
          • Does Adobe technologies have an "animal" such as the above two?  If so, which ones would you recommend?
            • Yes, Adobe and the Flash Plataform are the best solutions for your need. I deeply recommend you to use Adobe Flex (web) and Adobe AIR (desktop/mobile) instead of the others.

• Assuming Adobe does offer a strong solution, why would you choose Adobe technologies over MS or Oracle?