7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2011 9:29 PM by Flex harUI

Flex datagrid custom itemEditor - not returning data

newbie_dev

Hi,

I am new to flex and this is a basic "How to" question.

I want to  write custom item editors and renderers for a datagrid column.

I am facing two problems here

1) override public function get data() : Object is not working. however, if the type of the column is just text then override public function get text():String is working. Specifying editorDataField in the datagrid column definition is working for some types ex:Strings, Numbers

2) Nothing is working for slightly more complex types like an Image. even editorDataField is not working. Somewhere between the user editing the data (in the case of an image, edit = browse, select & load an image) and grid asking for data at itemEditEnd, the entire data loaded by the user is disappearing and it is returning null or some default value I'd set it to in override public function set data().

I am aware that datagrid reuses both editors and renderers but I dono how the data user has set is getting lost while the focus is on the same cell

I have tried to use getter setter for this custom data field mentioned in editorDataField but when I do so, nothing works.. it fails even for string type

It should be a simple thing to do and I am sure I am making some silly mistake .. please help me out. It has driven me nuts since today morning..

any pointers would be really appreciated.

• 1. Re: Flex datagrid custom itemEditor - not returning data
          Flex harUI Adobe Employee

The field specified by editorDataField is read and put into the property in

the data item specified by the column's dataField.

Let's say you have one item in the dataProvider

dg.dataProvider = [ ];

And two columns:

dg.columns = [ new DataGridColumn("firstName"), new

DataGridColmn("lastName") ];

If you click on the lastName column, an editor is created and assigned the

entire data item