6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2011 1:38 PM by efremdr88

Render time for HDTV 1080 on mac mini?

efremdr88

Mac Mini 8GB/2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo.

Comp settings: HDTV 1080 24. 5min video with audio, approx.22 layers.

I'm new to A/E. I created I 5minute Video with a 35sec Intro template that uses After Effects default fx's, so there's no 3rd party plug-ins. My render time reads 15hrs, 40min...RAM is using 73% of 8GB. I have no other Apps open. Is this normally the lenght it would take to render by this setting? How would I render my video in less time?

Thanks for any helpful insight.

• 1. Re: Render time for HDTV 1080 on mac mini?
          efremdr88 Level 1

Im using AE CS5 My Render Output is MPEG4. The video after the Intro sequence is about 4minutes in mp4 format with file size of 1.02GB, I had to convert this original .mov file to a mp4 Video in Adobe Media Encoder because AE wouldn't import the mov file. -Thanks

• 2. Re: Render time for HDTV 1080 on mac mini?
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
            Is this normally the lenght it would take to render by this setting?

It could be, but since you didn't say which effects you actually used, it is hard to gauge. Even AE's own effects can cause massive slowdowns due to heavy processing going on. That's in particular true for temporal effects like Timewarp or memory hungry effects like Keylight. It is also true for simply using some effects with excessive settings - may not sound like much, but if you crank up a simple box blur to insane radii, it will just as much take forever to render. Also keep in mind that a Mac mini by no means is something meant for heavy compositing and its hardware is limited - it's just a notebook in a different casing more or less. So the long render times may be perfectly normal and there may be no way of bringing them down.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: Render time for HDTV 1080 on mac mini?
              efremdr88 Level 1