5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2011 7:38 AM by John T Smith

Convert MP4 to WMV in PE9

biggcb

I

need to convert a number of MP4 files into WMV format and was told that Premiere Elements would be able to do this for me.  I am a newbie with this all and am struggling with how to actually perform these conversions.  Is there an easy way to convert multiple files at the same time?

Thanks much!

• 1. Re: Convert MP4 to WMV in PE9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Premiere Elements is, technically, not a file conversion program. It's a video editor with output options.

However, it's limited in the types of video it can work with and what it can output from them.

Mp4s often do not work as source files in Premiere Elements unless they came from a compatible camcorder.

You may want to look into a program called Super, which is a free video convertor. If all you're trying to do is convert one type of video to another, it's a much better option.

BTW, WMVs can come a dozens of quality levels, sizes and compression levels. What do you plan to do with this WMV once you create it? That can determine whether you want an editable full-resolution WMV, one optimized for online display or another of its many forms.

• 2. Re: Convert MP4 to WMV in PE9
            biggcb Level 1

Thanks a lot for the information!

The files in question are mostly recorded training sessions as well as various types of presentations.

They were originally in a .VCM file format format, so we converted them to MP4s, but since my company's current version of Windows Media Player does not support MP$s, we needed to come up with a different file format.  We thought WMV was the best way to go, but am not 100% sold.

• 3. Re: Convert MP4 to WMV in PE9
              Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional