1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 25, 2011 4:17 PM by thebestcpu

Actions and creating different orientations/layers/sizes from a single file - is it worth it?

Kjeinafets

Hi there!

I know this is the scripting forum - but this topic seemed more appropriate here than in PS Mac general.

Im a graphic designer for a company that  builds a ton of apps - apps for many different kinds of phones, tablets,  and set-top boxes. For each new app that comes in I need to create a  package of graphics that includes banners, icons, and bootscreens that  currently totals 60 images per package. The time consuming thing is  that, since every package requires different branding/number or  layers/images/orientation - I end up adjusting & resizing them all  myself. I've gotten pretty good at it and it takes about an hour and 15  per package but I'd love to automate it so I can work on other things.

I've  experimented with actions in the past but since each package is  different, theres always something that ends up needing to be tweaked in  almost every image. Granted I haven't given a ton of time to  experimentation, after the 2nd or 3rd recording of actions it looks like  it's not working out and I need to move on to something more pressing. I  don't want to spend more time fixing things than it would take to  resize them myself. I've thought about grouping things in folders with  names actions can recognize no matter which package I'm working on, but  then again it seems like I run into trouble with things being wrong when  adding/removing layers and saving from portrait to landscape to icon to  banner.

The big question here is: is it even worth  it for me to keep experimenting with actions when I've already gotten  so quick resizing them myself? Is there anything automation can speed up  in this case?