6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2011 1:46 PM by kbowers000

Bill to Address same as Ship to

kbowers000

I'm new to JavaScripting and I'm trying to create a PDF form that has a check box that when checked will auto fill information.  Specifically, when the user fills out the bill to address they can click the check box "same as billing" and it will populate the ship to address.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.   

My data fields are as follows:

BTName

Billaddress1

Billaddress2

BillCity

BillState

BillZIP

SAMEAS (this is the check box)

STName

ShipAddress1

ShipAddress2

ShipCity

ShipState

ShipZIP

My JavaScript that I added to the check box is as follows:

// check the state of the button
      if(this.getField('SAMEAS').value == '1') {
      // checked
      // copy requestor information
      // get each requestor field object's value and set the sponsor field's value
      this.getField('BTName').value = this.getField('STName').value;
      this.getField('BillAddress1').value = this.getField('ShipAddress1').value;
      this.getField('BillAddress2').value = this.getField('ShipAddress2').value;
      this.getField('BillCity').value = this.getField('ShipCity').value;
      this.getField('BillState').value = this.getField('ShipState').value;
      this.getField('BillZIP').value = this.getField('ShipZip').value;
      }

• 1. Re: Bill to Address same as Ship to
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I would suggest changing this line:

if(this.getField('SAMEAS').value == '1') {

to this:

if(event.target.value !== "Off"') {

Also, you should get the field values using the valueAsString property, especially for the ZIP code:

this.getField('BillZIP').value = this.getField('ShipZip').valueAsString;

This ensures that any leading zeroes are retained for numeric entries.

You placed the script in the check box's Mouse Up event, right? If not, you should. You didn't mention what the problem is. Does the code not do anything?