6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2011 4:00 PM by CacheTrade

Flash catalyst didn't meet my expectations

GeneralMarketingService

I am no Flash expert nor a Catalyst pro by any means, so this is just my take on an average guy who tried and was less than happy with my results.

I was really hopeful of having a hybrid program that would bridge the gap between the complexities of Flash and my alternatives which have been SwishMax and a few other fill ins.

I found the import PSD function to work well and my start up went fairly well.

I managed my pages just fine and got the structure of my roughly 10 page interactive going ok.

Where i ran into headaches was the transition from page to page.

As i worked within the timeline and transitions windows, I found a lot of inconsistancies.

In several cases items that were on the page did not show in the transitions window

and i had  multiple problems getting items to enter and exit the way i had envisioned.

i would have also wished for more various transition options.

Conceptually i love the idea, but functionally my expectations were not met.

Granted, my trial was on version 1.0..  maybe things are better now.  

But I still love the folks at Adobe and all the products they continue to produce.

• 1. Re: Flash catalyst didn't meet my expectations
          topelovely Level 4

I'll advise you look at some Lynda.com training videos. They could help solve so many challenges you a facing.

• 2. Re: Flash catalyst didn't meet my expectations
            sangdn

Currentlly I just see Catalyst supports "Fade" "Sound" "Move" "Rotate" "Rotate3D" effect.

You could make your custome effect in your code insteead.

Catalyst is just make a simple transition from page to page with a smooth Transition feature.

I am facing many problem with it but I think it's good to make a quick - simple effect.

I see a Action Sequences but I don't find a way to use it too. don't you ?

• 3. Re: Flash catalyst didn't meet my expectations