6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2011 9:48 AM by ivatt2

What happened to Adobe?

maximusdm

I've been using adobe products for the past 12 years.  Instead of a product getting better, I've only seen it get worse.

Reader V10 doesn't open .pdf from IE or firefox

I can't print to a network printer
      I actually had to drop back to 9.4.3 to get my problems fixed.

Where is the quality assurance here?  Does this department even exist within the alls of Adobe?

I don't know about anyone else, but the download manager is not that great, plus for a while they were forcing McAfee Security Scan on you without permission, and no notification that it was doing so.

They were forcing updates on you in version 9(as in you couldn't disable updates).

You can't download old versions as a standalone unless you do so via FTP.

The list goes on....I can't express enough the disappointment I have with a product that started off so great and has declined so much over the years.

Sorry for ranting, I'm just tired of failed products from Adobe.

JP

• 1. Re: What happened to Adobe?
          dave_m_k Adobe Employee

Good day,

I can assure you that we thoroughly quality test all of our products.  I  will admit that we do push updates to our software frequently, however  it is also done so with the best interest of our customers in mind.  If  you review http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/837/cpsid_83708.html you will find  security updates and feature enhancements thoughout.

Hopefully, we can get to the root of your issue together.  Could you answer a few questions for me to best assist you?

Have you updated Reader 10 to 10.0.1?

What version of Internet Explorer do you have installed?

What version of Firefox do you have installed?

What printer do you have networked?

Do you have problems printing all PDF files from Reader X?

Thank you,

David

Acrobat Community Manager

Adobe Systems

• 2. Re: What happened to Adobe?
            maximusdm Level 1

Hi David,