9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2011 9:07 AM by John Hawkinson

pmtags to tagged text

nace_tech

Hello all, we have a system that exports data in PMtags for Pagemaker 6.5 and then our graphics dept can easily import this data formatted into a pagemaker template file.  I'm attempting to convert this process to indesign cs5.  I was wondering what the correct approach would be to go about this.  It's a small multi page table of contents type doc.

I was curious if i should pursue a pmtags plugin for indesign, converting the application to export the data in tagged text instead of pmtags, converting the application to export in XML instead of pmtags, or another method.  (i'm not a designer, i'm a sys admin).  Any direction would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: pmtags to tagged text
          Harbs. Level 6

I'd think the best way to go would be to have your system create the InDesign tagged text instead of thr PM variety.

I leue of that, you can convert the tags possibly with an XSLT transformation?

Of course, you can write an InDesign script to parse the PM tags and bring the text in (either by converting it to ID tags, or bringing the text in directly).

I think a full-blown plugin is definitely over-kill...

Harbs

• 2. Re: pmtags to tagged text
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

PMtags are definitely pedestrian, when compared to InDesign INX (or -- complicated beyond my ken -- IDML).

It shouldn't be too hard to plainly import the tagged text as plain text into ID, then replacing all of the tags with a script.

Some background info can be read here: http://www.adobe.com/products/adobemag/archive/pdfs/9607dsok.pdf (the writer sounds a bit familiar )

• 3. Re: pmtags to tagged text
              John Hawkinson Level 5

Writing plugins is not for the faint of heart -- don't do it that way.