12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2011 8:57 AM by KatDeskat

Measurements / dimensions of elements

KatDeskat

Hi all,

I'm trying to indicate dimensions of the different layout elements, as well as the distance between them, on a separate layer, to spare me the time of writing these dimensions myself...

I'd like a tool that would allow me to drag the pointer betweens two points of the layout, and a little box with the distance between these points would be created. These "boxes" should be able to show on one layer of the document, so that I can export the file with, and without these dimension info.

I read on another forum that a script could allow me to do that, but I've never written any script before. (so please write english )

Any idea anyone?

• 1. Re: Measurements / dimensions of elements
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Hi Kat! Unfortunately it's not as straightforward as you think ... First off: you cannot add a tool with a Javascript. I'm guessing you are using CS5, and you are thinking of something like the Gap tool. Well -- that sort of functionality cannot be scripted! What I had in mind was more like: you select two objects and this hypothetical script adds a text frame with the distance.

I got something working, but I don't get the exact logic of what you are looking for. How would a script (or a person, for that matter) "know" what dimensions you want to see? If you select one single rectangle, would you want to see its width and height? If you select two rectangles, would you want their respective widths and heights (as if you selected them one by one), or -- since you mentioned distances -- the "distance" from one rectangle to another? If so, how is this measured, on Web pages? Left edge to left edge? Center to center? Nearest edge to nearest edge? And both horizontally and vertically? From corner point to corner point?