8 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2011 3:06 PM by Georges Kanouté

Adobe Reader X is...awful

RineyBree

This seems to be another case of a software company trying to fix what isn't broken.

Here is why I uninstalled Adobe Reader X in anger a few hours after installing it:

1. Fonts look like crap. All antialiasing appears to be removed from the fonts, easy-to-read fonts are replaced with ugly ones, and everything has lost that smooth look that has traditionally been the sole domain of Adobe Reader.

2. It needs time to "prepare the document" upon opening, and brings up an intrusive dialog in the middle of the screen that, when cancelled, appears to have no ill effects on the viewing of the document. The whole concept is completely useless as far as I can tell.

3. The Hand Tool is gone, so arrow keys can no longer be used to navigate around the document when zoomed in (a feature that, as a translator, I used very frequently). Adobe reader X now appears to be operating as if the Select Tool were selected, and this, as far as I can tell, cannot be changed.

There are likely more issues and unneeded changes that were made but I just couldn't live with this any longer and had to uninstall.

Let's hope Adobe restores a lot of the functionality with the next update.

• 1. Re: Adobe Reader X is...awful
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

For #1, I get fine results. There is a user preference that controls font smoothing, so perhaps it wasn't set correctly for your system.

For #2, I'm not sure what you mean. I do not see the same thing.

For #3, the Hand tool is present on my installation. You may have to right-click the toolbar area and select it from the various toolbar buttons to get it to display.

• 2. Re: Adobe Reader X is...awful
            LEO HOUSTON

I am trying to uninstall it and it won't let me. What do I do know

• 3. Re: Adobe Reader X is...awful
              pwillener Level 8

LEO HOUSTON wrote: