2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2011 9:25 PM by sagaro

Help with Error 2007 Loading External SWFs

strongma2akron

I am just learning ActionScript3 and am trying to create a fla file that loads 3 external SWF. I have already created and saved the 3 SWFs and they are all saved in the same folder. I have given them the names "A.swf" "B.swf" and "C.swf" so they are easy for me to keep track of. I created the actionscript below and placed it in the first frame of my parent file which is saved in the same folder.

import flash.display.MovieClip;
      import flash.display.Loader;

var swfContainer:MovieClip;
      var swfLoader:Loader = new Loader();
      swfLoader.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE,loaderCompleteHandler);

function loaderCompleteHandler (evt:Event):void {
      swfContainer = swfLoader.content as MovieClip;
      addChild (swfContainer);
      swfContainer.x = 0;
      swfContainer.y = 0;
      swfContainer.alpha = 1;
      swfContainer.visible = true;
      }

swfLoader.load(new URLRequest ('A.swf'));

When I incert the filename in the URLRequest statement "A.swf" and test the movie it works loading the swf movie and playing it.

When I swap either the "B.swf" or "C.swf" file names in the place of the "A.swf" it doesn't work. I end up with no swf file loaded or played on the stage. I also get the following error statement. But I am confused because it is in the Output Tab not the Error Tab which does not report any errors.

TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter child must be non-null.
      at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/addChild()
      at SWFadMovieClips_fla::MainTimeline/loaderCompleteHandler()