16 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2011 10:02 AM by the_wine_snob

Imported Still is Blury, Prem Elements 9

m_e_g

I'm a complete novice when it comes to Premeire, so forgive me. I am very familiar with Photoshop CS4, but I'm using Photoshop Elements 9, which is not as similar to CS4 as I expected.

I'm trying to import an image of text for a title screen rather than using the Prem 9 templates. The images I import come in blury. I have created a photoshop doc using the NTSC DV preset, but that doesn't help. The img files are 720x480, just like my video. Resolution 72 or 300...it doesn't matter, clarity is still bad. I've also tried saving it as .jpeg, .bmp, and .psd with no difference. I'm thinking it's possible it could be the fact that the film is intended to be viewed on a TV screen, but here's why I think that's not the case:

I have film footage of a "title screen", i.e. text printed on a paper held in front of the camera. That text comes in clear enough, but the lighting quality is poor and the printout is not straight. If I capture a frame from this image and edit it's brightness/contrast and levels in photoshop, and then import it back into Prem, it becomes blurry.

Also, I would hope the film could look just as clear regardless of how it was viewed, meaning both TV Screen and Computer Monitor. I'm not sure if there's a setting in premiere that, for editing purposes, shows the film in a low quality preview format or what the issue is. It just doesn't seem like it should be blury.

Again, very new to premiere, so I apologize for being slow.

• 1. Re: Imported Still is Blury, Prem Elements 9
          nealeh Level 5
          • Ensure that you are viewing at '100%' and not 'Fit'. Check this by right-clicking the monitor pane and checking magnification.
          • If you have a redline on your timeline above your image then press [Enter] - this will perform a render and give you a better feel for the finished article.