20 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2011 9:19 AM by cvid01

Image rendering issues in Premiere Pro CS5

Alith7 Level 1

I am very new to Premiere pro, and am considering not using it anymore unless I can figure this issue out.

I am a professional photographer, and I need to make pan and zoom (Ken Burns effect)  slideshows-pretty basic.

I have extremely large image files, and am having serious issues with the quality once I render them in ppro.

I have tried all of the below:

-Importing sized correctly to the project size in ppro

-Importing larger than the project size

-Importing psd,pdf,jpeg files

-Setting the new preset in photoshop to "TV and Film"

-Importing high res pics directly from my 5D markii

-Etc.....

This all over days and days of scouring the web and calling fellow video editors for advice.

I have gone through and tried tons of different forms and sizes for my ppro projects.

The issue is;  I bring my huge or resized files into ppro.  They look great.

Then, when they're too big I scale them down or if they were properly sized to match that of the ppro project I leave them unscaled.

Then 1 of 2 problems occur:

-In the case that they're too large, I scale the image to the size of my ppro project-it becomes painfully pixelated.

-In the case that they're the correct size and I don't need to scale them, when I render them-then they pixelate and become just as painfully

low quality.

I didn't include a screen shot of this, but trust me-it's truly a massive loss in quality-it's painful-worse than even SD should be.

I have a new imac, I bought it last month, the specs are:

Processor: 3.2 GHz Intel Core i3

Memory: 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

1 processor

2 Cores

Is my video card not rendering poorly?

Is ppro somehow compressing my images during rendering?

Is there a problem with my pixel aspect ratio?

Again, the problem has nothing to do with exporting at this point.  The export quality matches that of the low quality within the program.