1 Reply Latest reply on May 17, 2011 12:00 PM by Joe ... Ward

Possibly weird inquiry: Javascript vs. Actionscript for AIR devs?

Omega-Blast Level 1

Apologies if this isn't in the proper forum section; was having trouble locating where it might go.

Here's the short of it: I'm a javascript developer with an extensive history in web design. Javascript is, and always has been, my language of choice for user interactions in the browser.

Naturally, I was enthralled to find that Adobe AIR supports javascript as well as actionscript. This means a whole world of exciting new HTML5 technologies, such as game development using WebGL and the canvas element, are open to me.

However, I seem vastly outnumbered in the AIR community as a JS dev. Documentation about AIR development in JS is scarce, especially when compared to AS documentation. I didn't even see any release notes mentioning JS in the recent AIR 2.7 release.

My questions are as follows:

1.) Is javascript as worthwhile a language for AIR development as actionscript? Why or why not?

2.) Is there any danger of Adobe dropping support for javascript within AIR in future updates?

I do not consider myself a Flash (or Flex) developer and don't have much desire to become one. However, if support for javascript in AIR is waning, maybe I should begin studying it.

Thanks for any tips/advice.

• 1. Re: Possibly weird inquiry: Javascript vs. Actionscript for AIR devs?
          Joe ... Ward Level 4

It is pretty unlikely that AIR will drop support for JavaScript development through Webkit. But it is, currently, only supported on desktop platforms, not the mobile platforms.