3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2011 8:44 PM by Jimondo

font/code problem

Jimondo Level 1

I have a button that when clicked it displays a few lines of text. Some of the text is large, bold and some of it is normal and smaller size. The first time I click the button the text displays properly but if I click on it a second time then the text is messed up. I am new to flash and have tried several different things- i know my code must be wrong but i can't figure out how to fix it on my own. Any ideas how to solve this problem? Thanks!

• 1. Re: font/code problem
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If yoiu think it might be a coding issue, you should show the code.

• 2. Re: font/code problem
            Jimondo Level 1

Hi Ned, this is something  you helped me with before- getting the code setup for my map using dynamic text field. I am having a really hard time understanding the actionscript and getting it to do what I want like for the different fonts. I am new to flash and have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to the code- it makes no sense to me. In the properties i have the font set to Arial regular 14 point. I'm using actionscript 3. If i leave the code the way it is now it works on the first click but if i click on it a second time then the text gets all messed up. Here is what I want it to look like.

washingtonrep name
            555-123-4567

small text

washingtonrep name
            555-123-4567

small text

Here is the code:

var washington_btnInfo = "<b><font size=18>washingtonrep name<br>555-123-4567</b></font><br>small text";

var oregon_btnInfo = "oregon";

washington_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, showInfo); // assigns a listener to the button
            oregon_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, showInfo);